Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Zoom Cloud Recording Storage Policy

This policy is to ensure that enough cloud storage remains available to the RIT community during the active academic semester and promotes proper stewardship of RIT resources. Cloud recordings will be automatically moved to the Zoom trash 130 days after they were recorded. If a recording is associated with the Zoom tab in a myCourses shell, it will also be automatically removed from the Zoom tab when the recording is placed in the Zoom trash. All other links to the recording will no longer function.

Recordings that should not be deleted can be preserved if action is taken on them prior to exceeding 130 days of storage or during the 30-day "grace period" after the recordings are moved to the trash. Review Options for Preserving Recordings below for details. Each recording owner is responsible for ensuring recordings are retained in accordance with relevant university policies. 

Grace PeriodCloud recordings will remain in the Zoom trash for 30 days. During this time, the recording owner can easily recover recordings from the Zoom trash and take additional action on them to preserve them. If no action is taken during the 30 days in the Zoom trash, the cloud recording will be permanently deleted. The recording owner will receive a final reminder email from Zoom seven days before the recording is permanently deleted (view sample reminder email).

Viewing Recordings You Own

For a list of recordings you own, log into https://rit.zoom.us/. From the side menu, click Recordings. The recording list displays the number of days you have until the recording is auto-deleted (i.e. moved to the Zoom trash) or that auto-deletion is disabled (i.e. recording will not be moved to the Zoom trash).

Options for Preserving Recordings

Some recordings should not be deleted, such as those that fall under C22.0 Records Management Policy or those that are still actively being viewed.

  • For recordings that are actively being viewed by others in their original context, you can disable the auto-delete process on those specific recordings. Examples of these types of recordings are course meeting recordings that are only shared to the course section in which they were recorded and pre-recorded lecture videos where only the instructor was present in the meeting. Review Preserve Recording in Zoom: Disable Auto-Deletion for instructions.

  • If you want to re-use a recording for another course or semester, but the recording contains FERPA-protected content (e.g. prior student video and audio), then the recording must be edited. The edited recording will then be stored in the Ensemble streaming server instead of in Zoom. Review Download Recording for Editing for instructions.

  • If a recording needs to be preserved in accordance with the C22.0 Records Management Policy (e.g. recordings pertaining to student grades) but it no longer needs to be actively viewed by others, then it can be saved to your computer hard drive. Review Download Recording for Record Retention Purposes for instructions.

Effective Date

This policy went into effect on May 19, 2021.

  • No labels