Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Q: How can I restrict students from downloading their dropbox submissions again?

myCourses does not offer this as a specific feature at this time, but there is a work-around available.

Dropbox folders have an option called Special Access under the Restrictions settings. If this is set to 'Only allow users with special access to see this folder' and a student is not granted special access, they will have no reference to the dropbox folder or the history related to the folder. It is simply not listed for them in any way and they do not have any access to download their submissions.

In most situations this is for an exam where the instructor does not want students to be able to download and share their submission after leaving the exam. Below are instructions for generally blocking access, followed by instructions specific to an exam situation.

General setup

This setup is to manually block access after the submission period is complete.

  1. Edit the Dropbox folder and on the Restrictions tab go to the Special Access section.
  2. Select 'Only allow users with special access to see this folder' for the Special Access field.
  3. Click the Save button.

Exam situation

Setup

  1. Edit the Dropbox folder and on the Restrictions tab go to the Special Access section.
  2. Select 'Only allow users with special access to see this folder' for the Special Access field.
  3. Click 'Add Users to Special Access'
  4. On the next screen adjust the number of users per page to see the whole class
  5. Use the checkbox at the top of the table header to select all users.
  6. Click the 'Add Selected' button.
  7. Back on the Restriction tab click the Save button.

During the exam:

  1. The Instructor or TA opens two browser windows. One to monitor the dropbox folder submissions, the other on the Restrictions tab of the Edit Folder form.
  2. As the students complete their exam they approach the instructor before they leave the room.
  3. The instructor can refresh the dropbox submissions to confirm receipt of the files.
  4. On the Restrictions tab use the trashcan icon to delete that students special access, then click Save.