Child pages
  • Using Code42 for backing up and restoring files

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Logging in to Code42

  1. Input your rit RIT username and the server address backup.rit.edu in the prompted fields.
    Image Removed
    Image Added

  2. You will then be prompted for a password, enter your RIT password

    Image RemovedImage Added

Managing and Backing up files

...

  1. Click the "Manage Files" button on the right side of the screen shown here
    Image Removed
    Image Added
  2. This will bring up the computers directory seen below. Clicking on the checkboxes on the left side of a folder or file will select the files that will be backed up. Selecting/deselecting a folder checks/unchecks all files and folders inside of it. You can traverse through the directory and its folders by clicking on the folder name that you wish to move through.
    Image Removed
    Image Added
  3. After you have selected the folders and files you want to be backed up, make sure to hit save in the bottom right corner of the manage screen. NOTE: any files that you unselect that were previously backed up, will be deleted from the backup. Even if no changes have been made, keep ALL files that you want to save selected.
    Image RemovedImage Added
  4. After saving, backups will automatically resume after a short time, or you can select "resume backup now" to start a backup manually.

...

  1. First click Restore Files in the upper right of the screen, shown below.
    Image RemovedImage Added
  2. Find the file(s) you would like to restore and select them, similar to when you were managing the backup before. Then click on the Restore Files button in the bottom right to bring up the restoration options.
    Image Removed
    Image Added
  3. After clicking "Restore Files", the following menu with options should pop up.
    Image RemovedImage Added
  4. There are three selections you must make with the drop down menus on the right. Most of the time, the default selections will be the ones you will want but the other options are.
    1. Save Selected Files To >> Desktop(The computer you are using's desktop), Downloads(Your user/Downloads folder), Original Location(Saves to the same path the backed up files were in), Other(Specify a new location)
      Image RemovedImage Added
    2. If File Already Exists >> Rename(Create a new File with a different name), Overwrite(Replace Old file)
      Image RemovedImage Added
    3. Permissions >> Current(Permissions for the file of the user/computer you are downloading from), Original(Permissions of the file for the user/computer that the file was originally backed up on). 
      1. This option only really has an effect if a different computer is being used than it was originally backed up from(ie. going from a work to a personal computer or vice versa)
      Image RemovedImage Added
  5. After choosing your preferred options, click on the Go button in the bottom right of the menu to restore your file. You should receive a notification in the top right of your crashmap app that it was successful.

...