Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 51 Next »

Q: How do I copy a previous course into my current course to reuse portions of it?

Know before you start

  • All new course shells are empty when created. You can copy materials from another course offering by following these instructions.

  • Copying a course will only copy over course materials and structure, no student information or submissions will be carried over.

  • You must have the Instructor, Support Staff, or Course Copy Access role on both the original course and your destination to copy a course.

    If access to a course is needed, you will have to contact the original instructor of the course to add you.

    If the original instructor is not available, the Dean or Department Head of the academic department head must contact Academic Technology Support in writing at tlsupport@rit.edu for us to grant you access. They must indicate the full course number of the course including section and include the academic term the course was offered.

    This requirement is due to the Federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) regulations and the varying intellectual property policies across departments.

Important Notes

Please take a moment to read these important notes to save yourself from time consuming mistakes.

There is no one click way to reset a course to being empty. If you make a mistake and copy the wrong materials or make duplicates you will have to go through the course and manually delete items.

  • You start the process in the destination course, the course you wish to copy in to. This will be your new course in the current semester.
  • Make sure you are in the correct course you wish to copy in to.
  • Make sure you have selected the correct course and term to copy from.
  • If you repeat the copy process in a course you will create duplicate entries in the course, except for course files.
  • Course files with the same file name will be overwritten with the materials you are copying in. The files that were replaced will be lost and are not recoverable.

 

  • No labels